Today, Indiana Governor Eric J. Holcomb joined Department of Homeland Security Director Bryan Langley for a tour of recent flood damage in Clark, Jefferson and Dearborn counties. They will meet with local officials to learn about response and recovery efforts already underway. The governor returned yesterday from the National Governor’s Association Winter Meeting in Washington D.C.

Gov. Holcomb on Saturday declared a disaster emergency for 11 counties in response to widespread flooding and infrastructure damage caused by sustained heavy rainfall, including Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland and White counties. This disaster emergency declaration likely will be extended to include more counties. The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take necessary actions to provide expanded emergency services and is a step the state is required to take to request assistance from the federal government.