The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced the 2017-2018 Four Star Schools. Created by IDOE, the Four Star Schools designation recognizes great schools in Indiana.
The Four Star School Award has been in existence for over 30 years. To receive Four Star designation, a school must receive an “A” on the state’s A-F accountability system and have excellent ISTEP pass rates. A total of 234 schools received the award.
For more information regarding the Four Star School Award, please visit: To view acomplete list of recognized schools, please visit:

Local schools on the list:

Saint Patrick School – Chesterton

Saint Paul Catholic School – Valparaiso

Chesterton Senior High School – Chesterton
Jackson Elementary School – Valparaiso
Liberty Intermediate School – Chesterton

Morgan Township Elementary School – Valparaiso

John Glenn High School – Walkerton
F Willard Crichfield Elementary – LaPorte

Union Center Elementary School – Valparaiso
Benjamin Franklin Middle School – Valparaiso
Cooks Corners Elementary School – Valparaiso
Heavilin Elementary School – Valparaiso
Northview Elementary School – Valparaiso
Valparaiso High School – Valparaiso