Indiana’s Office of Early Childhood and Out-of-School Learning (OECOSL) is now accepting applications from families in 20 counties who may be eligible for grants for their children to receive high-quality, prekindergarten education through the On My Way Pre-K program for the 2019/2020 school year. The pilot program was expanded in 2017 from five to 20 counties to provide the benefits of early childhood education to more Hoosier children from low-income families.
In addition to the five counties where On My Way Pre-K has been available since 2015 (Allen, Jackson, Lake, Marion and Vanderburgh) the program will be available for the 2019/2020 school year in Bartholomew, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Floyd, Grant, Harrison, Howard, Kosciusko, Madison, Marshall, Monroe, St. Joseph, Tippecanoe and Vigo Counties. Families residing in these 20 counties must meet the following eligibility criteria to apply:
The family must have an income below 127 percent of the federal poverty level.
Their child must be 4 years old by August 1, 2019, and starting kindergarten in the 2020/2021 school year.
Parents/guardians in the household must be working, going to school or attending job training.
Links to electronic applications, in both English and Spanish, as well as a printable paper application, are available at
Once the family has met eligibility requirements and has been awarded a grant for their child, they may choose from any of the eligible, enrolled On My Way Pre-K programs in their county. Families can search approved providers at .