Sheriff John T. Boyd announced the promotion of two deputies within the ranks of the Merit Division, effective April 10th, 2019. Andrew S. Hynek has been promoted to the rank of Captain. Captain Hynek is a 1997 graduate of New Prairie High School. In 2005, he graduated from Indiana University-South Bend, with an associate’s degree in Criminal Justice. James D. Arnold has been promoted to the rank of Sergeant. He is a 1996 graduate of La Porte High School. Sergeant Arnold is now assigned to the Midnight Shift of the Patrol Division. With this assignment, he will serve as a supervisor and have additional daily responsibilities.