The Youth of the Year Scholarship was started by the Portage Y’s founder and first board president, Russell A. Willis. The award is granted yearly to an outstanding person displaying several leadership qualities. This award is a $1,000 scholarship payable upon the student’s graduation from high school and acceptance to and enrollment in, a two or four-year degree program, a vocational training program and/or other continuing education or training program approved by the Portage Township YMCA. The award is paid directly to the educational or training institution on behalf of the winner. Applications are being accepted from now through April 30, for the Russell A. Willis Youth of the Year Scholarship. Candidates for this award must live within the service area of the Portage Township YMCA, be an active member, volunteer or program participant at the Y, display the Y’s 5 core values: caring, honesty, respect, responsibility, & faith, have active community involvement with diversity appreciation, and demonstrate academic success. Applications can be obtained from the Portage Township YMCA located at 3100 Willowcreek Rd., Portage, IN or on their website,