Two outstanding La Porte County students have been named recipients of full tuition, four-year scholarships as Unity Foundation of La Porte County 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. Katelyn Adams and Logan Crawford will receive tuition to an accredited public or private Indiana college or university of their choice, and an annual $900 stipend for required books and equipment. Katelyn Adams will graduate with academic honors from South Central High School, having taken both advanced placement and honors courses. She has been involved in a diverse group of activities involving school and community, and has held many leadership roles. She has shown strong work ethic through her employment, has been on the student council for four years, and has directed middle school theater productions, among many other activities. Katelyn’s work, volunteerism, and athletic involvement have all helped shape the outstanding student she is today.

Logan Crawford will graduate from New Prairie High School with an academic honors diploma, including having taken dual credit, honors, and advanced placement level courses. Logan is a ten year 4H member and has shown strong leadership in his Club. He volunteers at the hospital to help with his future goal of becoming a pharmacist, in addition to other volunteer activities. Logan attended Hoosier Boys State and has shown strong work ethic through his employment while also volunteering and participating in extracurricular activities. Unity Foundation received nearly 100 applications for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship from students throughout the county. Applicants were judged on their academic achievement, service to others, extracurricular activities and, to a lesser extent, financial need. A committee comprised of La Porte County residents reviewed the applications, not knowing the applicants’ names until after the finalists were selected. The 10 finalists were then interviewed, and nominees were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. for the final selection. Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. As La Porte County’s community foundation, it manages approximately $33 million in assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed approximately $20 million through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations