Press release by Unity Foundation of La Porte County:

LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — Unity Foundation of La Porte County is pleased to recognize ten local high school seniors as La Porte County finalists for the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Two of the finalists will be selected as 2024 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. The two scholars will each receive a full-tuition scholarship to pursue a baccalaureate degree at any accredited public or private Indiana college or university and an annual book and equipment stipend. The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program has provided approximately $6 million in tuition and book stipends to 72 La Porte County students since 1998.

“This year’s finalists are a remarkable group of young adults. We look forward to their success in their college careers, and we hope they will continue to give back to their communities,” said Shannon Walker, Unity Foundation Vice President.

The finalists for the 2024 scholarship and their respective schools are:

Vanessa DeWitt, South Central High School
Amelia Jaracz, La Lumiere School
Megan Lambert, La Porte High School
Stephanie Leon, La Porte High School
Tatiana Miller, Michigan City High School
Alivia Rocke, South Central High School
Olivia Ruiz, New Prairie High School
Brayden Sobecki, La Porte High School
Ashley Sparks, Michigan City High School
Miranda Wozniak, Tri-Township High School

A committee of local volunteers reviewed the applications in a blind process. Finalists were selected based on their academic achievement, service to others, extracurricular activities and, to a lesser extent, financial need. The committee then interviewed each of the ten finalists. Nominees and alternate names will be submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc., the statewide administrator of the program, for the final selection – which will be announced in December.

The primary purposes of the program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.