Press Release, La Porte Community School Corporation:

This week, two school board members for the La Porte Community School Corporation have been recognized by the Indiana School Boards Association (ISBA) with the Exemplary Governance Award for calendar year 2023. Ryan Seaburg, Board President and Jim Arnold, Board Member and Past President, received the distinction for demonstrating an outstanding commitment to professional learning and student success.

The Exemplary Governance Awards (EGA) are conferred annually by the Indiana School Boards Association to school boards and school board members who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to professional learning and student success.

Awards are conferred across four levels of distinction. This year’s honors include 109 Commendable Awards (Level 1), 78 Advanced Awards (Level 2), 54 Distinguished Awards
(Level 3), and 29 Exemplary Awards (Level 4).

“On behalf of ISBA, I would like to commend this most exceptional group of school board members,” said ISBA Executive Director Terry Spradlin. “School boards perform a vital public service, and members who actively participate in professional learning are better equipped to perform their duties effectively.”

Honorees will formally receive their awards at ISBA’s Spring Regional Meetings during the month of April.

“These individuals are leading the way as models who strive for effective school board governance, and they should be proud of their accomplishments,” said ISBA President Rebecca Gardenour.

In addition to the individual accolades, a total of 105 school boards have earned board level awards. Level 1 and Level 2 Board awards are based on the collective point totals earned by board members, while Level 3 and Level 4 Board awards require the completion of additional criteria, such as a retreat with an outside facilitator.

Spring Regional Meetings are being held in Lafayette, Merrillville, Plymouth, Fort Wayne, Kokomo, Greencastle, Hagerstown, Indianapolis, Seymour, and Jasper.

ISBA provides a full range of professional learning opportunities to help board members govern effectively. At dozens of events throughout the year, ISBA informs and educates board members about best practices, legislative issues, policy development, school law, and more.

For more information about ISBA’s EGA program requirements and to see the full list of individual and board award recipients, please visit