The Healthcare Foundation of La Porte (HFL) and La Porte Hospital Auxiliary awarded 44 students with scholarships totaling $98,000 for the 2021
– 2022 academic year. HFL and the Auxiliary take great pride in offering scholarship awards to students that either reside or work in the La Porte community, a tradition started in 1983. These scholarships provide financial assistance to students pursuing careers in health science occupations.

Maria Fruth, President & CEO of the Healthcare Foundation, congratulated the recipients and thanked the scholarship committees: “HFL is extremely proud to provide these opportunities for students in the county. We gratefully acknowledge the time and effort of our scholarship committee members: Linda Satkoski (Chair), Kathy Bernel, Katrina Langford, Michele Magnuson and Jane Nelson (past chair). Twenty -eight students pursuing a career in healthcare are receiving $81,000 to offset the cost of their studies. We also acknowledge and thank the La Porte Hospital Auxiliary scholarship selection committee: Jean Burns (Chair person), Judith Klosinski, D’Ann Murray, and Ann Smith. Auxiliary awarded $17,000 to 16 students pursuing health and wellness related studies. Scholarships are an investment in a healthier future. Congratulations to all recipients.”

Healthcare Foundation of La Porte scholarships are awarded to junior, seniors and post graduate students in the healthcare field.
The Hrankaj Scholarship was established with a bequest from Walter Hrankaj. “Wally” was a long -time volunteer at La Porte Hospital.
Recipients of the Hrankaj scholarship must be enrolled in a Bachelor of Nursing program.

HFL is awarding the following students’ scholarships in 2021:
•HEALTHCARE FOUNDATION OF LA PORTE SCHOLARSHIP – Abigail Zila, Indiana State University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Ashley Samford, Ivy Tech Community College, Associate in Nursing
Austen Ott, University of Minnesota, Doctor of Medicine
Austin Casto, Valparaiso University, Bachelor of Science, Healthcare Leadership
Bethany Schuster, Purdue University West Lafayette, Bachelor of Science, Speech & Hearing Science
Breanna Wisser, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis, Doctor of Occupational Therapy
Chloee Garay, Valparaiso University, Master of Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Christine Ake, Indiana University, Doctor of Medicine
Elaine Bonner, Purdue University Northwest, Bachelor of Science, Biology /Pre -Physician Assistant
Elisabeth Novak, Cedarville University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Emily Kasarda, Indiana University South Bend, Bachelor of Science, Social Work
Jacob Kiser, Indiana University, Bachelor of Science, Human Biology
Jennifer Justice, Ball State University, Master of Social Work
Jillian Cooney, Ivy Tech Community College, Associate in Nursing
Jordan Forney, Purdue University Northwest, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Juan Garcia, Purdue University, Doctor of Pharmacy
Laura Fischer, Butler University, Doctor of Pharmacy
Mayra Toledo, Ohio State University, Master of Science, Nursing
Megan Gushrowski, Manchester University, Doctor of Pharmacy
Megan Rose, Indiana University South Bend, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Moriah Carmel, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis, Doctor of Medicine
Nicholas Willoughby, University of Chicago, Master of Science, Biomedical Informatics
Sara Siegmund, Purdue University West Lafayette, Doctor of Pharmacy
Shelby Riehle, Purdue University, Doctor of Pharmacy
Susan Feldt, University of Chicago, Doctor of Medicine
Tessa Bauman, Purdue University West Lafayette, Master of Science, Public Health

Amanda Brown, Ivy Tech Community College, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Jessica Jara Huizar, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Partnering with the Healthcare Foundation of La Porte, the La Porte Hospital Auxiliary awards to students who will be college freshmen and sophomores. 16 scholarships for a grand total of $17,000 were awarded. Auxiliary scholarships are funded from the sales proceeds of the gift shop at La Porte Hospital.
The following students received Auxiliary scholarships in 2021:
Abigail Kemiel, Indiana University Purdue University, Bachelor of Science, Exercise Science
Hannah Schoner, Valparaiso University, Bachelor of Science, Health Science
Aaron Feikes, Purdue University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Alexis Catron, Purdue University, Bachelor of Science, Occupational Therapy
Allison Zila, Indiana Wesleyan University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Allison Schweller, Valparaiso University , Bachelor of Science, Pre-Med
Hannah Smith, Ivy Tech Community College, Pre -Nursing
Liberty Riley, Ivy Tech Community College, Associate in Nursing
Makenzi Young, Indiana University, Bachelor of Science, Dental Hygiene
Nicole Hesters, Purdie University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Rachel Bellah, Purdue University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Thomas Hertges, Purdue University, Bachelor of Science, Kinesiology
Ymunique Wade, Indiana University South Bend, Bachelor of Science, Speech Pathology
Mareeya Scully, University of Indianapolis, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Paige Dew, Ball State University, Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Patricia Blair, Ivy Tech Community College, Associate in Nursing
Information regarding scholarship for the 2022 -2023 academic year will be available online, February of 2022.
Visit the HFL website to learn more at