Michigan City Area Schools has announced the recipients of the 2024 Teacher and Employee of the Year award.

“These five staff members have gone above and beyond to serve our students and were recognized today by MCAS Superintendent Dr. Barbara Eason-Watkins, Associate Superintendent Dr. Wendel McCollum, and representatives of Comcast and the Michigan City Chamber,” MCAS said on their Facebook page Friday.

Congratulations to:

  • Missy Burklow (Support Staff Employee of the Year)
  • Maryanne Garon (Transportation Employee of the Year)
  • Jenny Jones (Secondary Teacher of the Year)
  • Susan Shell (Elementary Teacher of the Year)
  • Diana Walpole (Food Service Employee of the Year)

Each recipient was presented with an engraved award, a check, and a gift bag.