Police Chief Paul Brettin (far right) and members of the Police Merit Commission honor five City of La Porte Police officers for their lifesaving work in the field Tuesday, April 13, 2021, at the police station in La Porte. Brettin said the officers recently went above and beyond to save the lives of residents in danger on several separate occasions. Pictured, from left: Det. Sgt. Victor Aguilar, Commissioner Brian Chalik, Commissioner Wally Brath, Officer Marcos Loza, Officer Jared Schaefer, Cpl. Joe Toth, Officer Joshua Leonhardt, Commissioner Terry Scherer and Brettin.