The Porter County Substance Abuse Council recently presented several Portage Police Officers with the Law Enforcement Phoenix Award.

This award was established seven years ago by former Porter County Coroner Chuck Harris in response to the unfolding opioid epidemic. For a first responder to receive this award they must have administered Naloxone (Narcan) to an overdose victim who then survives the event. The quick actions of 27 officers resulted in 35 lives saved from opioid overdose this past year. 

Portage Police say if you are struggling with addiction, please know that this agency participates in PAARI, the Police Assisted Addiction and Recovery Initiative. Those seeking assistance with substance abuse can come to the Portage Police Department and they will assist you in finding a treatment facility, assist in arranging transportation to that facility.If you are in possession of controlled substances or paraphernalia you may turn those items over without fear of arrest or prosecution.

This year’s recipients of the Phoenix Award are:
Lieutenant Joseph Mokol
Lieutenant Janis Crafton
Lieutenant Troy Williams
Corporal Robert Nichols
Corporal Laura Lightfoot
Officer Brian Graves
Officer Louis Stanko
Officer Flora McHenry
Officer Daniel Martinez
Officer Ben Tobey
Officer Robert Demitroulas
Officer Steven McGraw
Officer Kathryn Crook
Officer Jacob Wirick
Officer David Hudson
Officer Mark Speckhard
Officer Alex Leighty
Officer Cortney Overton
Officer Creighton Price
Officer Anthony Bohling
Officer Anthony Ortiz
Officer Andrew Smith
Officer Jesus Campos
Officer Demario Hathorne
Officer Gabriel Acevedo
Officer Christopher Leer
Officer Brandon Gardenhire